Which Grains Are Gluten Free?

Here are several gluten-free alternatives to try:

  • Brown Rice: Rich in fiber and B vitamins, brown rice is a healthy substitute for white rice. It has a chewier texture, making it great for soups and cold salads.
  • Buckwheat: Its name may be confusing, since buckwheat is not related to wheat at all. It is a flowering plant that is nutritionally similar to grains. It’s a good source of minerals, protein, and some vitamins.
  • Cornmeal: Made from coarsely ground corn where the nutrient-packed germ is left behind. Look for white, yellow, and blue varieties.
  • Millet: A nutritious choice that contains protein, phosphorus, and potassium. It can taste a little bitter, so combine it with strong-flavored ingredients. Toast it before cooking to deepen its flavor.
  • Oats, steel-cut: These are made by using steel blades to cut whole groats into bits. Be sure to purchase gluten-free oats that have not been contaminated by gluten during processing.
  • Popcorn: This popular snack food is in fact a whole grain. One cup (without oil or butter) has just 31 calories and 1 gram of protein and fiber.
  • Quinoa: A quick-cooking grain from the Andes, quinoa is actually a seed. It has all eight essential amino acids and is a great source of complete protein. Choose brands that contain high fiber amounts; this means that minimal bran has been rubbed off during the manufacturing process.
  • Teff: From Africa, this tiny cereal grain is rich in calcium, iron, protein, and potassium. With a sweet and nutty flavor, it makes a great hot cereal.
  • Wild Rice: This is another misnomer, as it’s neither a rice nor a grain but is, in fact, an aquatic grass. Since it has such an impressive array of nutrients, it’s considered a whole grain. With more protein than brown rice, as well as good amounts of lysine and fiber, wild rice comes in instant, quick-cooking, and fully cooked varieties.